Time Domain Transmissometer Module STDT-65

Overview & Features

Time domain transmission measurement module STDT-65 (extension for Sequid time domain reflectometer STDR-65)

  • No extra casing and cables required
  • 65ps sampling gate according to STDR-65
  • Fully integrated & synchronized with base device STDR-65
  • No additional latency
  • Fully integrated ESD protection module (optional)
  • Full automatic temperature compensation

Product Specification

Fully Integrated System

The transmission module STDT-65 is the optimal extension for the time-domain reflectometer STDR-65 for performing transmission measurements. The STDT-65 is fully integrated into the STDR-65 and therefore no further external components like cables and power dividers are necessary. The STDR-65 and the STDT-65 are well matched to each other, thus the same excellent jitter performance (Jrms<500fs) ensures that the high standards of the STDR-65 with regard to amplitude-, time-base- and temperature stability are reached. Furthermore, the integration of the STDT-65 has no influence on the acquisition time, because the signal sampling of the transmission module is optimally integrated in the standard data acquisition of the STDR-65 and is performed in parallel within the same cycle, thus no further latency is introduced.

System Extension

In most applications a traditional TDR step-signal is a suitable choice for solving a variety of measurement tasks. Nevertheless, in practice many scenarios are thinkable where a measurement signal different from the step-signal may be advantageous. Many TDR instruments lack the possibility to overcome these problems. By applying the STDR/T-65 system in combination with external component (e.g. pulse-former), a user-defined shape of the measurement signal can be applied. The SMAS®-components are optimally matched in the STDR/T-65 system and therefore can be utilized without further adaptations. In case the user already has an existing pulse-forming system, we would be glad to support you with the adaption to the Sequid equipment.

Mechanical Specifications

The STDT-65 is fully integrated into the STDR-65, thus a completely enclosed system is provided. Thus the same high mechanical protection class (IP code IP55) is available and the practical and compact design of the STDR-65 is kept.

Accessories

  • RF cables
  • Thru calibration standard

Fields of Application

  • TDT applications
  • Moisture measurement
  • Fault detection
  • Testing of electrical connections
  • Scattering parameter measurements (S21)

Further Information

Further Information about time domain reflectometry (TDR) moisture measurement you will find in our download area.

Zeitbereichstransmissometer-Modul STDT-65

Übersicht und Funktionen

Zeitbereichstransmissometer-Modul STDT-65

  • Kein Extragehäuse & keine Kabel
  • 65ps Signalabtaster entsprechend STDR-65
  • Voll synchronisiert mit Basisgerät
  • Keine zusätzlichen Latenzzeiten
  • Integriertes ESD-Schutzmodul (optional)
  • Automatische Temperatur­kompen­sa­tion

Produktbeschreibung

Systemintegrität

Mit dem Transmissionsmodul STDT-65 steht Ihnen die optimale Erweiterung des Zeitbereichsreflektometers STDR-65 zur Durchführung von Trans­missions­mes­sun­gen zur Verfügung. Das STDT-65 wird vollständig in das Gehäuse des Sequid Zeitbereichsreflektometer STDR-65 integriert und erfordert somit keine zu­sätz­lichen externen Komponenten. Dabei sind das STDR-65 und das STDT-65 Modul so aufeinander abgestimmt, dass die exzellente Jitter-Performance (Jrms<500fs) entsprechend des hohen Standards des STDR-65 bezüglich Amplituden-, Zeitbasis und Temperaturstabilität erreicht wird. Die Integration des STDT-65 in das Gerät zudem hat keinen Einfluss auf die Erfassungsgeschwindigkeit, da die Signalabtastung des Trans­missions­signals optimal in den Abtastprozess integriert und dadurch vollständig parallelisiert durchgeführt wird.

Systemerweiterung

In den meisten Anwendungsfällen ist ein klassisches TDR-Sprungsignal die optimale Antwort auf Ihr Messproblem. Dennoch ergeben sich in der Praxis häufig Situationen, in denen ein Messsignal mit einem alternativen Spannungs­verlauf vorteilhaft ist, was bei herkömmlichen TDR-Systemen in der Regel ein Problem darstellt. In solchen Fällen kann durch Ergänzung des STDR/STDT-65 Systems mit externen Komponenten (z.B. Impulsformer) eine benutzerdefinierte Signalform verwendet werden. Bei der Auswahl dieser Komponenten kann z.B. auf SMAS®-Komponenten zurückgegriffen werden, die optimal auf das STDR/STDT-65 abgestimmt sind. Sollten Sie eine eigene Signalgenerierung bevorzugen oder bereits besitzen, so sind wir Ihnen bei dem ggf. notwendigen Interface gerne behilflich.

Mechanische Eigenschaften

Da aufgrund der vollständigen Integration des STDR-65 Moduls in das Gehäuse des STDR-65 ein abgeschlossenes Komplettsystem zur Verfügung steht, werden für Ihre Transmissionsmessungen keine externen Komponenten benötigt. Auf diese Weise wird erreicht, dass die gleiche hohe mechanische Schutzklasse IP-55 gewährleistet ist und Ihnen als Benutzer das praktische Kompaktdesign des STDR-65 erhalten bleibt.

Folgende Software-Module können mit dem STDT-65 verwendet wer­den:

  • Single-ended Transmissionsmessungen (TDT)

Zubehör

  • Anschlusskabel
  • Thru-Kalibrierstandard

Anwendungsgebiete

  • Feuchtemesstechnik
  • Fehlstellen-Detektion & -Lokalisation
  • Testen von elektrischen Übergängen
  • Transmissionsmessung

Weiterführende Informationen zum Thema Zeitbereichsreflektometrie

Sie möchten mehr über das Thema TDR & Impedanz messen erfahren? Im Download-Bereich haben wir Ihnen weiterführende Informationen zusammengestellt.