SMAS® — Sequid Modules and Systems

Overview & Features

SMAS - clock generator and pulse generator The abbreviation SMAS® stands for "Sequid Modules and Systems". The modular concept of these building blocks aims at supporting high-speed design en­gi­neers and developers to take efficiently and quickly the step from the basic system design (proof of concept) towards a fully operational demonstrator or prototype system. The task of designing a compact, realistic, and complete system to be presented to project management organizations or decision makers in companies can be crucial. This often requires the replacement of expensive laboratory equipment by dedicated and cost-saving subsystems, as for example clock- and pulse-generators. Using SMAS® components can shorten this important step considerably. By applying the pre-designed subsystems you can combine the high-performance UWB components with the advantageous small casing:

The SMAS® components generate and work with clock signals from the kHz range up to the GHz range. You benefit directly from the extensive experience of Sequid in ultra-wideband (UWB) microwave circuit design, which is a very challenging discipline: because handling clock signals with sub-nanosecond rise-times require more and other precautions than the design in the standard digital circuit design and the traditional RF circuit design. One of the most important specifications of ultra-fast clock systems is the jitter performance, which can be considered similar to the phase noise in classical high frequency technology. The SMAS® components have a typical random jitter of only a few picoseconds, which allows for using SMAS® in applications with high-speed clock rates.

Fields of Application

  • Clock signal generation in digital high-speed systems
  • Pulse generating systems (e.g. laser diode driver, UWB-Generators)
  • Ground penetrating radar (GPR)
  • Specialized TDR/TDT systems
  • Automated test- & measurement-systems

The Sequid GmbH continually endeavors to enhance the SMAS® building blocks system, in order to offer a wide range of high standard performance func­tion­alities. If you have any specific requirements, we would be glad to discuss these with you personally to find together a common solution.

As a special service we offer our support for integrating the SMAS® software libraries in to your software environment. These are implemented in C++ and therefore can be directly linked into most software projects. In case of special requirement, please contact us directly.

SMAS® — Sequid Modules and Systems

Übersicht und Funktionen

SMAS - Taktgenerator und Impulsgenerator Die Abkürzung SMAS® steht für "Sequid Modules and Systems". Mit diesem mo­du­lar konzipierten Bau­kasten­system soll In­ge­ni­eu­ren und Ent­wicklern ein Werk­zeug an die Hand gegeben werden, im Bereich der Zeitbereichssysteme den Schritt vom grundlegenden Systemdesign (proof of concept) hin zum voll funktions­fähigen Demonstrator bzw. Prototypen schnell und kostengünstig vollziehen zu können. Viele Laborinstrumente wie z.B. Takt- und Pulsgeneratoren müssen im zweiten Entwicklungsschritt durch preiswerte spezialisierte Komponenten ersetzt werden, um ein lauffähiges und kompaktes aber auch realis­ti­sches Systemdesign für potentielle Auftraggeber und Projektträger zu präsen­tieren. Mit SMAS® können Sie diesen Schritt erheblich abkürzen, indem Sie vorkonzeptionierte Subsysteme verwenden. SMAS® beinhaltet eng auf­ein­ander ab­ge­stimmte, sehr breit­bandige Komponenten:

Die SMAS®-Komponenten generieren und arbeiten mit Taktsignalen im kHz-Bereich bis über die GHz-Grenze hinaus. Damit profitieren Sie direkt von der langjährigen Erfahrung der Sequid im Bereich des breitbandigen Hochfrequenz­schaltungs­entwurfs, welcher viele Entwickler vor große Herausforderungen stellt. Bei Taktsignalen mit Pikosekunden Anstiegszeiten gelten im allgemeinen andere Regeln als im digitalen Schaltungsentwurf und in der klassischen HF-Technik. Eine der grundlegenden Kenngrößen bei schnellen takt- und impulsgebenden Syste­men ist der Jitter, welcher in der klassischen Hochfrequenztechnik dem Phasenrauschen entspricht. Die SMAS®-Komponenten weisen typischerweise ein Jitter im Bereich weniger Pikosekunden auf, wodurch auch anspruchsvolle hohe Taktraten ermöglicht werden.

Anwendungen

  • Taktgenerierung in digitalen High-Speed-Systemen
  • Impulserzeugungssysteme (z.B. Ansteuerung von Laserdioden, Erzeugung von UWB-Signalen)
  • Bodenradarsystem (GPR)
  • Spezialisierte TDR/TDT-Systeme
  • Automatisierte Test- und Messsysteme

Die Sequid GmbH ist ständig bestrebt, ihr SMAS®-Baukastensystem weiter aus­zubauen, um eine große Vielfalt an Funktionalitäten mit höchstmöglicher Performance anbieten zu können. Wenn Sie spezielle Anforderungen oder Wünsche haben, so diskutieren wir gerne mit Ihnen eine gemeinsame Umsetzung.

Als speziellen Service bieten wir Ihnen zusätzlich unsere Hilfe bei der Integration der Software-Bibliotheken zur Steuerung der SMAS®-Komponenten an. Diese sind in der Programmiersprache C++ implementiert und können somit in die meisten Software­projekte direkt eingebunden werden. Bei speziellen Aufgaben­stellungen nehmen Sie gerne mit uns Kontakt auf.