RFQ-Scan® - Radio Frequency Quality Scan

Food- & Material Analysis with Sequid TDR-Technologie

RFQ-Scan - TDR technology for measuring food quality & other material parameters The measurement system RFQ-Scan is based on the principle of dielectric spectroscopy. An ultra-wideband impulse is applied to the material under test and the reflection is evaluated using multivariate statistical methods. The patented method allows for the detection and characterization of parameters, which are determined by the dielectric properties (complex per­mittivity) of the material. The results are displayed in a manner that can be easily interpreted. The bases for the calculation are statistical methods like e.g. principal component analysis and various kinds of regression methods.


Added Water in Foodstuff

RFQ-Scan - Measuring added water by means of TDR technology A variety of different substances are available for adding water to foodstuff effectively. Apart from the widely used additives such as, for example, phos­phates, citrates and car­bo­nates, the usage of protein hy­dro­ly­zates is be­coming increasingly popular.

Conventional methods for detecting additives are costly and time con­su­ming chemical analyses, which are based on the quantification of special target ions or molecules. However, these me­thods fail in the case of detecting car­bo­nates, hydrolyzates or unknown additives.

The RFQ-Scan detects added water by means of changed dielectric properties of the material and therefore works independently of the used additive. The final objective result is available within seconds.

Read more about the topics water binding additives & added water.


Quality of frozen Fish

RFQ-Scan - Measuring the quality of frozen fish by means of TDR technology Nowadays the quality of frozen fish (e.g. Alaska Pollock) is assessed by experts per­for­ming sensory tests, which may be inaccurate due to sub­jec­tive influences. Furthermore, operating a laboratory for sen­so­ry analysis is costly and the tests are time-consuming and skilled personnel are required.

The RFQ-Scan is based on highly developed technology that allows for an objective assessment of the quality of frozen fish. The figure shows Sequid's scale for frozen sea fish in a quality score with 15 units. The quality spectrum ranges from poor quality double frozen quality up to premium sea-frozen material. The RFQ-Scan is the first instrument to measure the freezing quality objectively.

Read more about the topic quality of frozen fish.


Ham Curing

RFQ-Scan - Measuring the salt content & aW-value by means of TDR technology In cooperation with the Spanish research institute CENTA/IRTA, the feasibility of measuring the water and salt content as well as the water activity with the RFQ-Scan technology was in­vesti­gated. Commercially available calibrations based on the latest investigations were developed.

Read more about the topic salt content & aW-value.

RFQ-Scan® - Radio Frequency Quality Scan

Lebensmittel- & Materialanalyse mittels Sequid TDR-Technologie

RFQ-Scan zur Messung der Qualität von Lebensmitteln Das Messverfahren RFQ-Scan basiert auf den Prinzipien der dielek­tri­schen Spektros­kopie. Ein breit­bandiger Mess­impuls wird auf das zu unter­suchende Material gesen­det und die Reflexion wird mit Hilfe multi­variater Statistik aus­gewer­tet. Dieses pa­tentierte Verfahren erlaubt Ma­te­rialzustän­de, die sich durch un­ter­schied­li­che Dielek­tri­zitäts­zahlen auszeichnen zu erken­nen und zu charakterisieren. Gleichzeit wird ein leicht zu interpretierendes Ergeb­nis ausgeben. Grundlagen hierfür sind Methoden wie die Hauptkomponenten­analyse (Principal Component Analysis, PCA) in Kombination mit unterschied­li­chen Regressions­verfahren.


Zugesetztes Wasser

Nachweisbarkeit von zugesetztem Wasser Um Nahrungsmitteln künstlich Was­ser hinzuzufügen, steht eine Reihe unter­schied­li­cher Zusätze zur Verfü­gung. Ne­ben weit­verbreiteten Addi­tiven wie Phos­phaten, Ci­tra­ten und Car­bona­ten werden zuneh­mend auch Pro­tein­hydro­lysate ein­gesetzt.

Konventionelle Methoden zum Auf­spüren von Additiven sind kosten- und zeit­inten­sive chemische Ana­lysen, die je­doch auf bestimmte Moleküle spe­ziali­siert sind und bei Car­bo­naten sowie Hydro­lysaten versagen.

Das RFQ-Scan detektiert zugesetztes Wasser anhand der geänderten di­elek­trischen Eigenschaften und somit unabhängig vom eingesetzten Addi­tiv. Das ob­jektive Ergeb­nis steht innerhalb von Sekunden zur Verfügung.

Lesen Sie mehr zum Thema Wasser bindende Additive & zugesetztes Wasser.


Qualität von Frostfisch

Qualität von Frostfisch Die Qualität tiefgekühlter Ware (z.B. Alaska Pollock) wird zurzeit durch erfahrene Sen­so­ri­ker be­stimmt. Dabei kann die subjek­tive Wahr­nehmung das Ergebnis ver­fälschen. Zu­dem ist der Unter­halt eines Sen­sorik­labors kosten­intensiv und die Durch­führung der Tests zeit­aufwendig.

Das RFQ-Scan erlaubt aufgrund seiner hochentwickelten Technik die objektive Erfassung der Qualität tiefgekühlter Ware. Die Abbildung zeigt Sequid's Ein­teilung der Frostqualität von Seefisch in 15 Einheiten. Das Spektrum reicht von geringwertiger Doppelfrostware bis hin zur Premium-Seefrostware. RFQ-Scan ist die weltweit einzig­artige Möglichkeit, Frostqualität objektiv zu messen.

Lesen Sie mehr zum Thema Qualität von Frostfisch.


Schinkenreifung

Schinkenmessung In einer Kooperation mit dem spanischen Institut CENTA/IRTA wurde die Anwendbarkeit der RFQ-Scan Tech­nologie zur Schnellbestimmung des Salzgehalts und aW-Wertes in luft­ge­trockne­tem und geräuchertem Schinken un­ter­sucht. Aus dieser Zusammenarbeit wurde eine kommerziell erhältliche Kali­brie­rung er­stellt.

Lesen Sie mehr zum Thema Salzgehalt und aW-Wert.